Cookery: Osakana Yaki-ki (お魚焼き器) Indoor Grill / Roaster

Best. Invention. Ever.

That thing up there is not the Japanese George Foreman grill but it could quite possibly be one of the best contraptions to own; especially if you grill a lot of fish. I don’t know about you, but I’ve stunk up my kitchen. And home. And the entire floor of my old apartment building. My neighbors probably hated me and too bad I moved before I added one those things to my kitchen.

That thing up there is an indoor roaster and since the smoke is pretty limited, the odor is too. But the end result is perfectly grilled fish. I also use it to grill / roast:

  • vegetables
  • poultry
  • even toast

Another giant plus? Cleaning is super easy. There’s this tray on the bottom you fill with water that catches fat/oil of the protein so there are no worries of burnt oil you’d have to scrub. There are variations but the one pictured above can be purchased as Amazon here for $71.51 (bizarre dollar amount.) This is one investment you won’t be sorry you made.

No this is not an ad…but it sure sounds like one. Seriously though, buy one. Grilling/roasting is one of the easiest and fastest way to prep meals — even if it’s just for you.

Second thought, maybe I should ask for a kickback 😉

Leave a Reply

