Simple is best

Poached Eggs from The Standard Grill

$12 for poached eggs…? Twelve?? For eggs that are poached and served with salt, pepper and olive oil??? Oh, well. I’m in NY. I guess I’ll pay the $12 then…were my initial thoughts but I kid you not, these were the best poached eggs I’ve ever had. Apparently, these are special eggsย and indeed they were worth every penny.ย But beyond the price and ingredients, I find myself fancying simple foods and flavors. Eggs are the best barometer.

It’s a month or so later and I am still dreaming about these suckers.
If you are ever in NY, please brunch at The Standard. You will not be disappointed (despite the Yelp reviews).

The Standard Grill
848 Washington Street
13 Street (Under the Highline)
New York, NY 10014
(212) 645-4100

Leave a Reply

