Robot Restaurant

536844ba01d768a3518b4576

Even after 1.5 years of living here, this whimsical city continuously stuns me. People always ask me to describe Tokyo and I am never able to express this city’s surrealness. When I attempt to pinpoint Tokyo’s quirks, l bore people with rambling.

 

 

I’ve witnessed people’s eyes glaze over and minds wander, more than likely they are putting together a mental grocery list. It’s okay, I’m not offended. There is just too much to say, too much to love and I can’t help but blab on. I am terribly concerned my thoughts on the Robot Restaurant will upchuck similar streams of word vomit like when I speak of Tokyo. The show, like this city, makes zero sense which is exactly what makes them both so great.

I almost think the show’s creators listed what they love and hate about Shinjuku, Shibuya, Akihabara and Ueno (wards in Tokyo, there are 23 total). They took the lists, mashed them together, and turned it into a 75 minute spectacle. There is loud music, parade floats covered with lights. Segways, lasers, dinosaurs, over-sized stuffed animals, robots and tens of super cute girls in playful costumes that barely leaves anything to the imagination. From start to finish it is utter nonsense and I love every second of it.

Yes, it is touristy. Yes, it was on Bourdain. Yes, it may make some uneasy (I’ve spied several couples with slightly unhappy female counterparts).

It is absolutely worth every penny of the $60USD.

If you ever visit Tokyo, Robot Restaurant is a must. I’ve been more times than I care to admit and going back again next week. Just kidding. Maybe not 😉

Robot Restaurant
Shinjuku Kabukicho 1-7-1
http://www.robot-restaurant.com/E/
*I’ve never made reservations by the way.
**Also, it is not a restaurant. You aren’t required to purchase food but, there are beer girls with beer packs.

One thought on “Robot Restaurant

Leave a Reply

