America Full

FullSizeRender (1) copy

There is full. Then there is America full. Very first time at Lawry’s was in Tokyo of all places. Still trying to wrap my head around that. I mean, I’ve heard of Lawry’s since I grew up in the States but came all the way to Japan to eat there.

The prime rib was a massive slab of meat just like in the States. Cleaned the entire plate and I was stuffed. Like Homer Simpson-stuck-on-couch-I-can’t-move-whatwasithinking food coma status. The last time I felt this full was back in the U.S., most likely after shoveling Tex-Mex in the suburbs of L.A. down my pie hole. (The chips and salsa refills kill me – I have zero self control and can eat like five basket fulls by myself. #sexy)

I was curious as to the type of clientele Lawry’s attracts and since we were sitting at the bar, we had the opportunity to eavesdrop on lots of people enjoying a drink before being seated. There were:

  • American tourists (of course)
  • Chinese tourists (surprising)
  • Japanese people celebrating special occasions (heard happy birthday sung about five or six times through our meal)
  • Older Japanese salary men having business dinners — several times, I heard one man boasting knowledge to the other “Lawry’s is very very famous in America. There is one in Vegas, Chicago, Beverly Hills” …which was a bit endearing. Who knew Japanese men still feel the need to show off their America ‘smarts’.

Well, at least I can finally check ‘Eat at Lawry’s’ off my checklist…? And I’ll just leave it at that. Haha

Leave a Reply

