Waldorf Salad

Before leaving my beloved Manhattan to move to Tokyo, I had to stay at the Waldorf Hotel and try the iconic Waldorf Salad. It was one of the many quintessential New York things I did before moving away. It’s funny how I lived in SF, LA and NY but was rarely a tourist in my own city.

The hotel itself is old and crumbling with gaudy, outdated decor. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are small and almost motel-like. For a luxury hotel, it sure didn’t seem like one. To be frank, I didn’t like it at all. (The Waldorf Towers though, are stunning.)

The salad is served in the cafe like dining room right next to the lobby. I think it’s called The Peacock Lounge (sorry, too lazy to Google). I of course order the salad and was eager to finally taste this legendary dish I grew up reading about in many books and magazines.

It was weird.

I was a bit taken back by the peas but then again, I have a strained relationship with peas. We also ordered the tartare. It was also weird. Both had a lot of mayonnaise.

Eating the Waldorf Salad and staying at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel is one of those ‘things to do only once in a life’ experiences 😉

Note to self: be a never ending tourist.

Leave a Reply

