Chef Seamus Mullen’s Blueberry Almond Smoothie

Pardon the ugly phone screen shot but I’m not in front of my computer and just had to blog this *now*. Otherwise I procrastinate. And once I put it off I forget. Which usually means I never ever post it. Okay, I’m done with the justifying.

At any rate, I really love Instagram and every food enthusiast should too, It’s the best source to find recipes, new restaurants, take a peek at the inner workings of restaurants, see private lives of our favorite chefs and other food industry people. I really, really love it when chefs post recipes of what *they* eat.

Back when I lived in NYC, Boqueria was a super popular tapas place. In 2012 (I believe – too lazy to google), the head chef Seamus Mullen opened his own restaurant Tertulia in the West Village down the street from where I lived. I used to go at least once a week.

The other day I downloaded the Google Photos app for my phone, which pulled up all sorts of gems. This Tertulia photo was one of them ↓

I posted it on Insta and since my photos are geo-tagged I was able to pull up other (recent) photos from Tertulia and somehow ended up on Chef Seamus’ Instagram. From there, I noticed a post for a smoothie and when I clicked on the photo, saw he wrote the recipe in the comments.

So here it is:

Chef Seamus Mullen’s Blueberry Almond Smoothie

1 c. frozen wild blueberries
1/4 c. almond butter
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 avocado
2 c. unsweetened almond milk
1 handful of dark leafy greens or parsley
Pinch of sea salt
Some ice cubes

Throw above in a blender. Done and Done.
Chef Seamus also mentions he preps this the night before.

You’re welcome.
Follow his Instagram here

Tertulia
359 6th b/w W. 4th and Washington Place
NY, NY 10014

It’s next door to Soto and around the corner from Dan Barber’s Blue Hill and Mario Batali’s Babbo. Damn, I lived in an amazing neighborhood and miss NYC so much.

Leave a Reply

