Ode to My Hometown

Lucky Peach recently published a piece on the ramen of my hometown: San Mateo, CA and of course, I have to share. 

I’m copying and pasting part of the comment I wrote on my friend’s post he shared via Facebook:

San Mateo’s Japanese food game has actually been on point for years tho! I’m so fortunate to have lived (eaten?) through its rise. Nice to see a shout-out to my hometown.

I know I am guilty of repeating this, but I am so appreciative I grew up in an era before what I affectionately call the Asian Invasion and fortunate to see many chefs starting out in other restaurants go to open their own.

What a town and era I was raised in!
Read the Lucky Peach piece here (ramen-centric, though).

Leave a Reply

