Baked Alaska and Citizen Cake

Strange timing. Just when I was talking about how I can’t recall the last time I saw a Baked Alaska, I stumbled onto one on Instagram. I asked if it was a Baked Alaska, to which they kindly responded it’s a Baked Hawaiian.

Baked Hawaiian is a variation of a Baked Alaska, where it’s the same hot and cold concept of cake and ice cream with meringue. In a Baked Hawaiian, pineapple (passion fruit or any tropical fruit) is used.

Here are several recipes I found:

Citizen Cake by the way, was a fantastic dessert place in San Francisco. I still remember the akamiso chocolate ginger soufflé with house made yuzu ice cream, rose petal crème brûlée with saffron pistachio cookies and a grapefruit campari cocktail I had back in 2008 (Thank you, journal!). The bakery nextdoor: Citizen Cupcake had incredible carrot cake. And I’m not a dessert person.

I looked up Chef Falkner to see what she’s up to after Citizen Cake. Apparently she moved to NY and is now a consulting chef after short stints making pizza and cooking in the UWS of Manhattan. She’s also a contributor to Food and Wine Mag, where I found several recipes for juices. Citizen Cake’s cocktails were so delicious, I’m definitely making this juice when apples are back in season (Granny Smith is tough to find in Japan).

Fresh Apple-Celery Juice with Ginger and Parsley

2 celery ribs, cut into 3-inch lengths
One Granny Smith apple—halved, cored and cut into large chunks
One 2-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled
1/2 medium bunch of parsley with stems
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Mix above ingredients in a juicer. Recipe via here.

One thought on “Baked Alaska and Citizen Cake

Leave a Reply

