Gen Yamamoto

I might quite possible be the only person on the planet to think this. But, after my fifth or sixth trip to Gen Yamamoto, I am confident placing him in my “Experience” bucket. Alongside Robot Restaurant, Kawaii Monster Cafe and Tokyo Disney Land.

He is still the charming, lovely, charismatic connoisseur. And his drinks are out of this world!! But there is one thing I cannot get over:ย his pours are always uneven!!!!!’n

Evidence one:


Me in my head: he will fix the uneven pours before he serves. I think… hope??? ๐Ÿ˜ณ

He did not ๐Ÿ˜‘


Me in head:ย I hope I don’t get served the one on the very right. I hope I don’t get served the one on the very right. I hope I don’t get served…ย 

*gets served the one on the very right*

Fuck. I got ripped off ๐Ÿ˜


Me in head: Stop looking at the uneven pours. Focus on his story and gesticulating.ย 

Ugh. The one on the left. I hope I don’t get served the one on the very left. I hope I don’t served…

…Mona. Knock it off!!’n Focus on his story. Focus on his story. Focus on his story. Focus on his… *OCD Level 96629495918647392: ACTIVATED*

POURS ARE NOT EVEN. I SWEAR. IF I AM SERVED THE ONE ON THE VERY LEFT… ๐Ÿ˜ก

See? This place causes unnecessary anxiety.

I’ve tried making excuses for him the first one or two times I went. Like maybe he was having an off night. Or maybe his hand is cramped. Or, maybe he forgot to put his contacts in that day. Or perhaps he only serves foreigners uneven pours?

But after about the sixth time, I’m over this place.

So sorry, Gen-san. As big of a crush I have on you, I doubt I will be returning. Nor will I be recommending you until you fix your pours!

*photos aren’t mine; found on Google Images. Mine are on my Insta with a few somewhere in the archives

Edit: I am a loser.

Trevor Moran (who I’ve been hanging with the past week and is an AMAZING human)ย pointed out all Gen’s glasses are custom handmade, which makes every one of them unique. Some are smaller, wider, taller, bigger, thinner, etc.

When we went to Gen the other night and he kept laughing at me for being so unwarrantedlyย bothered by the uneven pours. I asked Gen-san if the different shapes and sizes of the same glass bother him. To which he replied in his usual soothing way: “It does not, I actually prefer the different shapes and sizes. Although it may look as though my pours are uneven to my patrons.” and of course, I had to say: “I was actually one of those people“.

And Gen-san laughed really hard. I translated to Trevor and all three of us had a big laugh. Good times.

So I take back this post! If you have a chance, DO PLEASE GO!!

 

Leave a Reply

